How to create Data Dictionary Existing Tables

 

Query

;WITH DD (ID,RN,TBL,COL,DT,KEYY,NN)
AS
(
SELECT ID,
ROW_NUMBER() OVER (ORDER BY T.[Table]) AS RN,
T.[Table],T.[Column],T.[Data Type],T.[key],T.IsNullable
FROM
(
SELECT
T.object_id AS ID,
T.name as [Table],
C.column_id AS CID,
c.name AS [Column],
CASE WHEN I.DATA_TYPE LIKE ‘%VARCHAR%’ THEN I.DATA_TYPE +'(‘+CAST(I.CHARACTER_MAXIMUM_LENGTH AS varchar) +’)’
WHEN I.DATA_TYPE LIKE ‘%NUMERIC’ THEN I.DATA_TYPE +'(‘+CAST(I.NUMERIC_PRECISION AS varchar) +’,’+CAST(I.NUMERIC_SCALE AS varchar)+’)’
ELSE I.DATA_TYPE END as [Data Type],
CASE WHEN SUBSTRING(CONSTRAINT_NAME,1,2)=’PK’ THEN ‘PK’ ELSE ” END +”+
CASE WHEN FKT.NAME IS NOT NULL THEN ‘FK_’+FKT.name ELSE ” END
+’ ‘+ CASE WHEN DF.definition IS NOT NULL THEN ‘Default ‘+ DF.definition ELSE ” END as [key],
I.IS_NULLABLE as [IsNullable]FROM sys.tables AS T
INNER JOIN sys.columns C ON T.object_id=C.object_id
LEFT JOIN INFORMATION_SCHEMA.COLUMNS I ON I.TABLE_NAME=T.name AND I.COLUMN_NAME=C.NAME
LEFT JOIN INFORMATION_SCHEMA.KEY_COLUMN_USAGE CU ON CU.TABLE_NAME=T.name AND CU.COLUMN_NAME=C.NAME
–INNER JOIN sys.objects OB ON OB.object_id=t.object_id
LEFT JOIN sys.foreign_key_columns FK on FK.parent_object_id =c.object_id and C.column_id=FK.parent_column_id
LEFT JOIN sys.foreign_keys Fky ON Fky.object_id=FK.constraint_object_id
LEFT JOIN sys.tables FKT ON FKT.object_id=Fky.referenced_object_id
LEFT JOIN sys.default_constraints DF ON DF.parent_object_id=C.object_id AND C.column_id=DF.parent_column_id

) AS T
WHERE T.[Table] LIKE ‘TableName
GROUP BY T.ID,T.[Table],T.CID,T.[Column],T.[Data Type],T.[key],T.IsNullable
)
SELECT CASE WHEN T1.TBL=T2.TBL THEN ” ELSE T1.TBL END TBL,T1.COL,T1.DT,T1.KEYY,T1.NN FROM DD T1
LEFT JOIN DD T2 ON T2.RN=T1.RN -1
ORDER BY T1.ID,T1.RN

Output

TBL COL DT KEYY NN
Table Name col1 int PK NO
col2 int NO
Author: tdmsql

I am a PL-Sql Developer. I am searching some sites sql studies but its bored. i like create studies note my own way. so that i created this site.

Leave a Reply

